31
Jul
11

Much Needed Kick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve had a few people here and there asking me about when the game is going to be done, or even if I’m still working on it.  I’m definitely working on it.  In fact, it’s what I spend most of my free time doing.  I don’t have a whole lot of free time with working full time and social obligations, but of the free time I do have, about 74.938475% of it goes to working on my beloved NES project.  I love working on this game.  I don’t love seeing my PS3 and 360 backlog of games I want to play getting longer and longer, but I still love working on Assimilate.

Nonetheless, it does need to get done.  I’ve been telling people online and at the cons I’ve visited that it will be done by the end of this year, and I have every intention of sticking to that.  And to make sure, I’ve posted a friendly little reminder on the wall next to where I usually work.  (See above.)  That’s a business card containing info about the game which I’ve been handing out at cons and such.  It includes a line that reads “Available in 2011.”  Next to the business card is a note reminding me in not-so-subtle language that the card does, in fact, say 2011.

And I can say that the game is moving into it’s final stages of development.  The artwork for the game has been done for awhile.  I’ve got all the enemies and items I want programmed into the engine and the levels are getting to a point where I’m happy with them.  My composer, Computerization, has delivered the vast majority of the game’s score to me and it sounds amazing.  Basically what’s left is the last boss fights and cosmetic things like credits and (possibly) cut scenes.  I also need to actually program the rest of the music that my composer’s sent into the engine.  After that is a big, final, ugly round of bug checking (shudder) and optimizing.  Holy shit, do I hate bug checking with a passion.  Still, there are some sever technical things that need to be worked out before I feel comfortable releasing this to the masses.

So for those of you who are interested, hopefully I’ll have some info on release details within the next couple of months.  Things could happen that will delay that, but I’m really busting my ass to make sure I get this bad boy out there sooner rather than later.  I’m also hoping to have some newer screen shots ready to go fairly soon.  Those will be posted on this blog.  Thanks for your interest in the mean time, too, and hopefully you do enjoy Assimilate when it’s done.

0 Responses to “Much Needed Kick”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Ossan


